Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World Revisited, and news on my novel………. (November, 2013)

Hello there readers!

 

So now that university is officially over (and I have a behavioural science degree as of three weeks from now), I’ve decided to take the time and write up another blog post about my most recently finished book, Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World Revisited.

 

Now, one would think that with a title like that, said book would be a sequel to the original and much acclaimed Brave New World. That’s about as far from the truth as you could possibly get. Instead, Revisited is a rather more interesting expose by Huxley on how the tropes in Brave New World are so close to how his world functions, and how – potentially – future developments among the human race could approximate the future that he has laid out in Brave New World.

 

The work is extremely well written and his words make an eerie kind of sense, especially since – as a reader in the early 21st century – many things he thought would never be perfected, such as the birth control pill and mind control techniques, have since been fine-tuned to quite a high level and are currently being used as regularly as one would use a toothbrush. Advertising and psychology go hand in hand, the mass media and the corporations attempt to control us, and Government in this day and age is far less democratic than in previous years.

 

As a reader, you get the sense that Huxley’s worldview is quite negative. He puts forward that if we are to change the course of human development from what it is destined to be (as of the 1950s) we have to act quickly and decisively, and as a unified whole. According to him, not enough is being done to lead away from a totalitarian world government that controls humanity through the use of fetal alcohol exposure, mind-altering drugs and selective genetic manipulation. In this same vein he also has an environmental message for us – if we’re going to keep living here, we have to take care of our resources and not squander them, and if we can’t do that then we’re destined to failure and perhaps death.

 

Overall, as a work Revisited carries much more weight than one would expect for its small size. It talks of conservation, preservation, perseverance, and keeping humanity on the right path. It also talks of the dangers we might face if things are left to grow on their own, and the potential threat that the mass media, the corporations and the government can pose if power is given to a single person or if justice and law are taken out of the government’s hands, forsaking whatever tropes of democracy remain in our current age and allowing humanity to become merely a simple gang of obeisant sheep.

 

It is at once a sobering and sickening thought. As readers, we would do well to take on board what he has to say and do what we can to prevent the future that he so gravely predicts.

 

So that’s my little two cents for today. I have a few more posts lined up soon, and I’d like to tackle a new initiative in promoting female writers because in proportion to male writers, we don’t get much air time. It’s a bit unfair really, so from now on I’ll post up entries about a female author’s work as often as I can. As I’ll most likely be writing a thesis next year I don’t want to overload myself.

 

So, on the topic of being a female writer my novel is coming along very slowly. Only because I’ve been in exams for the past two weeks, but the next two will be jam-packed with novel work. I want to get as close as I can to the 50,000 word limit this year, and now that I have my plot sorted out it should run far more smoothly than it did last year. I just hope my main character is going to be agreeable this time around!

 

And on that note, I’m off to go and catalogue a new collection of Doctor Who novels I’ve been meaning to get to for a few days.

 

Allons-y, and never stop reading!

 

AdmiralCarter.

Leave a Reply

