Habitus by James Flint… and Christmas! (SPOILERS) (December, 2012)

Hello again all;

 

So I may have told a small lie when I said I was signing off for the year… it seems I can read faster than I expected, which is probably a good thing when it comes to university.

 

Anyway, I just finished reading Habitus by James Flint… and I’m not too sure what to make of it. It’s a masterpiece of literary abandon, sure, but for me it just lacked some kind of juicy resolution. The characters had their moments around the middle of the novel, but in the beginning and the end they just seemed to fall flat on their faces. Almost quite literally at the end, where they all died unpleasantly. If given a choice, I don’t think I’d read it again. It just wasn’t my cup of tea.

 

But, the few parts in there that stood out for me really made their impact known. It has humour, wit, a strong moral to ground itself in, and besides Laika and Sputnik most of it stayed on Earth. Flint writes like a movie director, using camera pans and zooms to their full effect and going right down to the very cells in our bodies to help explain his plot. Though it is quite hard to follow, the plot itself does make some kind of abstract sense, mostly because of the neat tie-up at the end of the piece that explains everything away with Emma and her telepathic-fungal spore weirdness. Perhaps a computer would understand it better than I, with all those ones and zeroes. It certainly a unique piece, and though it’s not to my tastes (there are certain things that should never be written down) some may be able to overlook the faults and enjoy it for what it is, which I struggled to do.

 

Besides that, Christmas was very good to me and delivered four new books! Here’s the list:

 

  • The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
  • REAMDE by Neal Stephenson
  • The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco
  • The Last Theorem by Arthur C. Clarke and Frederik Pohl

I’m particularly excited about Sense of an Ending and Prague Cemetery and Last Theorem, mainly because Sense of an Ending has a Man Booker prize to it’s name and the Prague Cemetery and Last Theorem are written by two of my most favourite authors of all time! It should be a real treat to read them and I’m going to start with Sense of an Ending. It’s only a very short read (doesn’t look to be about a hundred pages or so), so I expect I’ll be writing about it very soon. 

 

So, for real this time, Happy New Year everyone. May 2013 be as exciting as 2012, without the end of the world.

 

AdmiralCarter.

Leave a Reply

