Happy New Year and an update: What I’m Reading #5, Temple by Matthew Reilly (January, 2012)

Evening all!

 

First off, I’d like to wish you all a happy new year for 2012. Hope you had a good year and that this one doesn’t end badly like so many people keep saying.

 

On a more positive note, 2012 is also the National Year of Reading, which is absolutely BRILLIANT for us bookophiles of the world. You can investigate it at http://www.love2read.org.au/, I’ve had a bit of a look myself and there seems to be a lot of information there. Investigate at own leisure.

 

In other news, I just recently finished The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas and it’s officially one of my favourite books that I read of 2011. It’s very descriptive and nails the Australian culture down to a tee, which is quite a relief. It was interesting to see the parallels between my own life and those of the characters in the work, it’s a novel that makes you think hard about who you are, where you come from and what you’re doing with your life. It teaches you things, too. I would, first of all recommend it to every Australian, and secondly to anyone considering a visit, trust me it’s worth it.

 

I am now returning to a well-worn genre of mine, namely the adventure/thriller novel. This time around it’s Matthew Reilly’s Temple, I’ve only ever read Hovercar Racer and Contest, both of which I enjoyed thoroughly so hopefully this one lives up to my expectations.

 

 

Yeah, so I’m going to see how things pan out. 

 

Another trip to Ikea is also on the books, someone needs a new bookcase…

 

All the best, and happy 2012!

Leave a Reply

