I know, I know it’s been a while but I’m still here! (March, 2013)

So I thought I’d write a blog post to make up for the time I’ve been away. I’ve been mostly kept away from doing this because of university, and with exams coming up I don’t expect I’ll get much time in the next few weeks.

 

So what have I been up to lately? Well, I’m still reading my way through Jules Verne’s Journey to the Centre of the Earth, as well as Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. These both continue to keep me enthralled, though I am still finding Journey to the Centre of the Earth to be slightly too dry for my tastes. Perhaps it will get better when they finally enter the mountain – five or six chapters on just getting there doesn’t prove for interesting reading, but I suppose it’s all about the journey not the goal.

 

In other news I also made another trip to a local second-hand book store, and picked up a new load of sci-fi classics that I’ve been meaning to get for quite some time now as well as some other titles. These were:

 

  • Hidden Empire by Kevin J Anderson, the first in a seven-book series
  • Xenocide by Orson Scott Card
  • Time Enough for Love by Robert Heinlein
  • A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
  • Hovercar Racer by Matthew Reilly
  • Babylon 5 omnibus
  • The Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy by EL James

This last one was purely because I was curious, and I have heard rumours that there’s a lot more psychology to it than what might first come across. They do say never to judge a book by it’s cover.

 

I also went to the Airport DFO’s bookstore and picked up Embassytown by China Mieville, who according to a colleague of mine is a must-read for sci-fi-fantasy nerds like myself. I’m looking particularly forward to reading this and I hope it lives up to my expectations.

 

At any rate, as I slave away writing psychology papers and reading textbooks I hope you’ve all had time to read something amazing. Please let me know, I’d love to hear about your adventures in the world of books!

 

Until next time;

 

AdmiralCarter.

 

Never stop reading!

 

 
Leave a Reply

