Oops it’s been a while… time for some Neil Gaiman! (February, 2013)

Hello all!

 

I thought that since I’m still trying to nut my way through the final pages of The Girl Who Played With Fire, the second book in the Steig Larsson Millennium trilogy, I’d give you some other tidbits of book-loving wonder in the interim.

 

To begin, a novel update. I’ve recently decided that my plotline was going haywire five chapters in, so I’ve had to sit down and basically chop bits of my work out. The damage wasn’t too bad, and I’m slowly reconstructing it into the piece I imagined it would be. Also, I may have to split it up into two or three books, depending on how my writing skills are these days (it’s been almost four months since I wrote anything proper).

 

Also, as a result of travelling and needing amusement I’ve started reading Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne. So far it’s turned out to be conceptually interesting, but I find the writing style a little too clunky and plodding for my tastes. I’ll persevere with it though and see how it goes.

 

Now, to my most interesting piece of news. I was poking around on my usual websites when I came across an article on Neil Gaiman’s new book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane. It’s due to come out later this year, and according to the publishers is ‘a fable that reshapes modern fantasy’. I’ve not read any Neil Gaiman novels, but I have seen Coraline and he’s due to write a new Doctor Who story for the upcoming season. Basically, everything of his I’ve seen is amazing so anything else of his promises to be of a similarly awesome caliber. I really admire the way that he manipulates elements of the stories to work with our inner psyche. For example, with Coraline he explored the idea of an alternative reality and lack of sight, clouding up the bad and replacing it with a faked ‘good’.

 

For more on Gaiman’s novel see http://www.headline.co.uk/books/detail.page?isbn=9781472200310

 

So that’s pretty much it from me, feel free to comment or not, whatever suits you I’m open to ideas. I’ll be back soon with more on The Girl Who Played With Fire, so stay tuned and don’t stop reading!

 

AdmiralCarter.

Leave a Reply

