The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, Millennium II. (FINALLY I FINISHED!) (February, 2013)

Yes I realise I was talking about this the other day, but I figured I should do the newest upload whilst its still fresh in my head.

 

I just finished reading The Girl Who Played With Fire, the second book in Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy. It has been said of some series that second and third books are never as good as the first. I beg to differ. The Girl Who Played With Fire is just as gripping, just as thrilling, and in some cases more colourful than the first book.

 

In it, we learn much about Salander’s past and her own family, and for the most part what caused her to be the way she is – caustic, unpredictable and dangerous. Larsson gives us a completely flipped perspective of a crime: whereas the first novel concentrated largely on Blomkvist and the Vangers, the second concentrates largely on Salander and Sapo, the police department in Sweden.

 

As for Larsson’s writing style, like the first book it is officious and without extraneous detail. One thing I did notice was that the personal relationships between the characters (Blomkvist-Salander, Berger-Blomkvist, Berger-her husband, Salander-Palmgren) are given much more room for exploration, creating a novel focused more on character than plotline as opposed to Dragon Tattoo which was all about plot. All this shifting around makes me wonder what the third and final book in this trilogy, The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest, will be focused on.

 

Another thing that this book does is put the spotlight on critical thinking. It makes readers take a long, hard look at the world they live in and begin to see new parts of it they never thought could exist, or validates the horrible truth that there are dark corners that sometimes we all would rather just avoid. Many mystery/crime fiction novels do this, and I feel it’s an important part of literature that is often discredited for its supposedly stereotypical plotlines. Every book has something to teach us, we just have to dig deep enough to see it.

 

The Girl Who Played With Fire is a stunning second novel in the Millennium trilogy, and I would recommend it to anyone who either likes the series, likes crime fiction, or is about to start on the rewarding journey in the genre.

 

On that note then I return to my reading escapades. Hopefully I’ll have another update soon; as University starts next week I’ll be quite limited for time but I’ll try my best.

 

Don’t stop reading!

 

AdmiralCarter.

Leave a Reply

