What I’m reading at the moment #2: The Tempest by William Shakespeare and Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco (October, 2011)

Hello my dutiful followers!

 

This time I’ve got two new books I’d like to share. My first is ‘The Tempest’ by the good bard William Shakespeare. Apparently, it’s one of only a few with an ‘original’ plotline. It follows a shipwrecked crew and their adventures on an apparently ‘deserted’ island, upon which they find the usurped duke of Milan, Prospero, and a spirit named Ariel who causes all sorts of mayhem and helps Propsero basically get back to Milan and take up his old position. It’s one of the comedies, and I have to admit there were some things I laughed at. I found a lot of lines in there that other well-known movies and books had ‘borrowed’, even the character of Caliban I believe has been borrowed elsewhere though I can’t remember where at the moment.

 

It’s not what I expected though. I’ve read A Midsummer Night’s Dream before and it’s not the same sort of humour. This is more dark and threatening, whereas the former is lighthearted and playful.

 

 

 

Umberto Eco’s Foucault’s Pendulum… that’s a book from another planet that one. I’m only about fifty pages in but the whole time I was reading I was gaping at it, completely amazed. I think the only other book I can compare it to in terms of writing style is Nick Harkaway’s The Gone-Away World, another of my most favourite novels of all time. The words in Foucault’s Pendulum are like an incantation, a spell that keeps you there wanting to find out more. It’s so deliciously done. Once I read more I’ll write it up here, but I’m looking forward to dipping my toes into the world of Abulafia again. Definitely a recommendation.

 

 

My last book, the Dreams and Psychoanalysis one… I had to return it to the university library, which was a shame because with more time I would have liked to finish it. 

 

Anyway, I should go and do some exam study.

 

Pearl.

Leave a Reply

