An update on my blogging negligence and Kindles.

Hello everyone! And welcome to my new followers 🙂

Thought I’d all keep you updated on what’s been going on. I realise I haven’t been blogging much lately and I intend to rectify that as soon as I can. My personal life has been going haywire and my second degree is a little more difficult than I imagined it would be. 

But I have been reading like it’s going out of fashion! During my absence I’ve been focusing on Goethe’s Faust (my transport reading, the book is nice and small so it fits in my handbag), and on James Clavell’s Tai-Pan, which I haven’t touched in a few months to be honest thanks to the newest addition to my bookshelf, my Kindle! 

Having grown up on a culture of the beloved paperback and hardcover and being quite attached to the idea as a book collector, I have always found the idea of an e-reader to be a little insulting to the book trade. However, as I have recently discovered, e-readers are much, MUCH more than another electronic device to add to the 21st century. I’ve found that it’s an easy way to access out-of-print or rare books, and is also very convenient for travelling purposes. I get an absurd amount of books on just one tiny device which is the size of a 100 page paperback, so I can never be without reading material! But it’s a blessing and a bother: to read, it needs charge. And to charge, I need my computer. Buying a wall charger is expensive and online shopping isn’t an option for me at the moment. But I’m surviving. 

In other news, the constant tapping of my keyboard is once again resounding around the corridors of my home and the smell of tea is wafting by in accompaniment. My own personal project (the novel I keep talking about) is once again in the works, and though I’m enjoying it immensely I’m finding it hard to focus on with four fanfictions in progress and university concerns constantly hounding me. It’s a good relief from writing business reports though, and in some ways is the only thing keeping me sane. 

So that’s about it from me for now. I’ll keep you updated on my progress with everything, and I hope you’re all finding at least a little time to read something you enjoy and to do something relaxing. It’s so hard to relax in this world of constant information sometimes, and even just a few minutes alone with your thoughts can work wonders. 

Never stop reading,

AdmiralCarter

Leave a Reply

