Nanowrimo 2014: Progress on novel prep

So as you can probably guess from the title, I’m well into my prep work for 2014’s NaNo novel. What’s it about, you ask? I can tell you now that there are sailing ships and lots of clockwork, but no more spoilers! Go check out my NaNo page at http://nanowrimo.org/participants/admiralcarter for more, and feel free to buddy me if you’re participating! I’m still in the process of putting everything up, but there’s a novel blurb and soon there’s going to be a cover! Once I get the thing finished; it’s more difficult than I’d imagined.

Anyway, my plot’s all nutted out and waiting for November 1st! I can’t WAIT I’m so excited! I’ve done loads of research, so I’m hoping I can get it as historically accurate as possible.

In other news, I’ve just recently finished reading Moby Dick by Herman Melville, alongside Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane and John Green’s Looking for Alaska (on request from a close friend). I’m now ploughing through JD Salinger’s Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenter, and Seymour, an Introduction. It’s only a short book and I might even finish it tomorrow. But the reviews are coming! It’s just taking me ages to get around to them in between university assignments and studying for block exams. I promise they’ll be up as soon as I can manage.

For those of you who do participate in NaNo, what are you all writing about? And if you’re keen to write but not sure where to start, NaNoWriMo is a great place to get the ball rolling. Go investigate, and take a chance. Never know where it might lead you!

That’s it from me for now; I’m due for some sleep.

Never stop reading, and let those creative juices flow!

AdmiralCarter.

Leave a Reply

