Dreamstealer and Camp NaNo 2015: An Update. Also libraries are cool.

Hello all!

I will preface this post with the fact that it’s currently 0200 hours here in Aus. It’s damn cold, and I can’t sleep.

So as you can judge by the title, I’ve been keeping myself very busy with work on my newest WIP, Dreamstealer. It’s shaping up to be a surprising novel, not just because I’m writing in an unfamiliar style (first person limited) but also because it somehow feels more full than my other pieces have. I am behind on my 50k word count, but I’m making solid progress towards catching up within the next week or so (7205 words and counting). I’ve always enjoyed reading fantasy work, so perhaps that has something to do with it? Who knows. My characters are amicable and easy to work with, in contrast to Jeremiah who’s sulking something wicked because I haven’t worked on Pirates of Time in just over two weeks. I’ll get to you, buddy. No need to get your sails in a twist.

In other news, I recently made a research trip to my local library and came back with five books which ought to help me with both WIPs. Most are fiction, except for one non-fiction book about the kings and queens of the middle ages in Europe. The fiction books are mostly to help with pacing, but also to get a better idea of how steampunk worlds are built. As much effort as I’ve put in, Google’s abilities to help me have unfortunately come to an end. It’s a very tall stack of books and my D&D dice are sitting on top, waiting for my next game in a week. Things are getting busy. I plan to go back to the library and put some other books on hold from the other libraries in my district; all the good ones seem to be ages away from me. The minute I came home with the book stack my father asked me how I’d get time to read them all in between the 100 or so other books on my shelf which have yet to be opened. I justified these ones as ‘research’.

Anywho, that’s it from me for now. I’ll be giving more frequent updates as the month goes on.

And yes, I’m still reading Dune.

Never stop reading/writing!

AdmiralCarter

Leave a Reply

