Speedreading

Hello everyone and welcome to November, 2016! Or as I like to call it, complete chaos.

I know the title’s a bit cryptic, but after having to speedread my way through a 329 page autobiography (it took me 2 hours) I wondered for a moment about the distinction between speedreading and, well, taking one’s time. Personally, I’ve always been a fan of taking my time with a book. Sitting down with a cup of good tea or coffee and immersing myself in the words. As a writer, I’ve always intended for my own books to be taken slowly, but looking at examples like The Silmarillion or other particularly long books makes me wonder if a shorter novel is the way to go. The proof is in the pudding, as they say, or the proverbial finished product. Guess we’ll see how it pans out.

How do you all like your books? Short and sweet, or long and languorous?

Now back to knocking over today’s word count.

AdmiralCarter

Leave a Reply

